AAAAAAAA NEW POST!

Exchange. Fuck You.

At school we now have a project to do; we have been tasked to set up a solution that we are supposed to “sell” to a fictive company called “Puls AB”.

Me and a friend is in one group and we decided to set up a Windows server 2003 domain with an Exchange 2007 email server.

We got the Active Directory, IIS and file servers up and running in no time.

But the Exchange server….

My friend and I had been working on it for about 2-3 days and still not gotten it to work, however during that time we only had access to two physical computers, one of which we could not use in the domain. All of the “big” servers (like AD and Exchange) ran on VMWare. I had the AD and my friend had the IIS on her physical computer and BOTH the file server AND Exchange 2007 servern running on VMWare.

Yesterday we had got access to another physical computer that we decided to run the Exchange server dedicated on, but it would not work.

Then, when my friend was trying to troubleshoot the Exchange server, I remembered that I have XAMPP on my lappy.

XAMPP is a package which contains server for HTTP (Apache), FTP (Filezilla), SQL (MySQL), but most importantly it had a SMTP/POP3/IMAP4 Mail server (Mercury).

Hummmm, I had never tried it before but I started it, and began playing around in the GUI, and within about 10 minutes I had a working Mail server!

All of that while my friend were still troubleshooting the Exchange server.

The only problem we have now is that we can’t figure out why a Logon script won’t mount a folder as G:

~ by Stoy on 16 February 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
